Nanaimo Sports Hall of Fame

1956 Timbermen lacrosse teamThe new Nanaimo Museum, scheduled to open in the Port of Nanaimo Centre in July, 2008, will include the city’s first Sports Hall of Fame. The first 10 inductees have just been announced, including Olympic athletes, champion teams, and sporting pioneers. Pictured here is the Nanaimo IWA Timbermen Lacrosse Team which won the Mann Cup in 1956. The other team to be honoured is the Northfield Violets Football Team, the People Shield Canadian Champions in 1914.

Nanaimo’s three Olympic athletes to be inducted into the Hall of Fame in 2008 are Phil Olsen (Javelin), Gerald Kazanowski (Basketball), and Brenda Taylor (Rowing). Radio announcer Larry Thomas, the voice of Nanaimo sports from 1966 to 1980, is being honoured posthumously. Another honoured Nanaimo sportsperson no longer with us is Elwood Wylie of the Nanaimo Track and Field Club. Lacrosse player and leading sportsman Harry Wipper is also on the list.The pioneering Nanaimo FC Rangers, soccer champions in the years between 1890 and 1903, are being recognized. Finally, Hugh (Red) Thompson, a champion runner at the 1936 Olympics, is to be recognized.

John Manning, president of the Nanaimo Museum, commented: “Sports plays a significant and important role in the life of our community. The museum is excited to be opening the new Sports Hall of Fame, and hopefully it will be a catalyst to inspire today’s teams and athletes.” A celebration dinner will be held on September 20, 2008, in the Port of Nanaimo Centre ballroom to honour those inducted into the new Sport Hall of Fame. Tickets ($75) are available directly from the museum (tel. 250-753-1821).

<< Home